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Dear DHS & DOC *Children’s Residential Facility Rule Applicant: 
 

 

Thank you for your interest in applying for a license to provide services to children in residential 

facilities.  Enclosed is an application packet for licensure by the Department of Human Services 

or the Department of Corrections.  An application is not complete until all required information 

has been submitted.  

 

INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE SUBMITTED  

(Please retain a copy of all submissions for your records) 

 

 License Application Fee Payment:  (Form provided) 

 

For each DHS license application, you must submit a $500 application fee.  The application 

fee is not prorated and is nonrefundable.  There is no application fee for a DOC license. 

 

 Initial Applicant Information:  (Form provided) 

 

 Application for Licensure:  (Form provided) 

 

 Social security number and/or Minnesota and Federal Tax Identification Number:  (Form 

provided) - Provide your social security number and Minnesota and Federal tax identification 

number on the enclosed tax identification form and return the form. 

 

 Worker’s Compensation Insurance:  (Form provided) - Submit evidence of compliance with 

Worker’s Compensation Insurance coverage requirements under Minn. Stat. § 176.181 by 

completing and returning the enclosed worker’s compensation form. 

 

 Policies and Procedures:  You must submit all program’s policies and procedures, including 

the required documents noted in the attached checklist. 

 

 Background Study:  Preprinted background study forms will be sent to you upon receipt of 

your application.  The preprinted background study forms include a unique program 

identifier and must be completed and submitted for: 

 

A. The person who signs the license application; 

 

B. The person with the highest degree of decision-making authority over the program; and 
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C. Each staff person who will have direct contact with persons served by the program (the 

background study form must be submitted to DHS before the staff person has direct 

contact).   

 

BACKGROUND STUDIES FOR PERSONS IDENTIFIED IN A AND B MUST BE 

CLEARED BEFORE A LICENSE IS ISSUED. 

 

Please send your completed application and all other required information and 

submissions to:  

 

Department of Human Services 

Licensing Division 

444 Lafayette Road 

St. Paul, MN  55155-3842 

 

Attention: All DOC and DHS applications must be submitted to the address above. 

DHS will forward DOC facility applications to DOC. 

 

FAILURE TO SUBMIT A COMPLETE APPLICATION 

WILL RESULT IN LICENSE DENIAL 

 

Within 90 days after receipt of a completed application, including all necessary approvals, the 

DHS or DOC licensor will inform you whether your license application has been approved or 

denied.  If your license is denied, you will be informed at that time of your right to contest the 

denial.   

 

After a license is issued, DHS or DOC will conduct periodic licensing reviews, including 

unscheduled drop-in visits and complaint investigations. 

 

Also enclosed with this packet are: 

 

A. Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0710 (Rule for Children in Out of Home 

Placement)  

 

B. Minnesota Statutes, 245A "Human Services Licensing Act" Table of Contents. 

 

C. Minnesota Statutes, 245C "Human Services Background Studies" Table of Contents. 

 

D. Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.557 and 626.5572 "Vulnerable Adults Act," Table of 

Contents. 
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E. Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 "Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors," Table of 

Contents. 

 

If you have access to the Internet, you can view the most recent version of Minnesota Statutes 

and Rules by going to:  www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us and clicking on Laws, Statutes, and Rules. 

  

 

SPECIAL NEEDS 

 

This information is available in other forms to people with disabilities by 

contacting the Licensing Division at (651) 296-3971, the Minnesota Relay Service 

at 1-800-627-3529 (TDD), dialing 7-1-1 or 1-877-627-3848 (speech to speech 

relay service). 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/

